Tuesday, February 21, 2006

Doctorow's The March wins Pen/Faulkner

The Washington Post reports today that the PEN/Faulkner Foundation will announce later today that E.L. Doctorow has won its 2006 fiction award for his novel "The March." It is the second PEN/Faulkner award for Doctorow, who won in 1990 for "Billy Bathgate."

The other finalists were:

  • William Henry Lewis for "I Got Somebody in Staunton," a story collection examining African American lives.
  • Karen Fisher for her first book, "A Sudden Country," a tale of America's 19th-century western migration.
  • Bruce Wagner for his novel "The Chrysanthemum Palace."
  • James Salter for his story collection "Last Night."

No comments:

Post a Comment